Sam - Hang Tran

The Dilemma of Helping Those on the Streets

In people, questions, society, thoughts on July 17, 2010 at 8:21 pm

If you’ve walked down the streets of New York City or any metropolitan area, you’ve seen the plight of the homeless, begging for change, sleeping on benches, and walking aimlessly.

When I see someone like this I feel the urge to throw them a couple of dollars. Yet, I’ll admit it; something inside me stops me from doing so. I debate whether it’s the right thing to do. I ask myself;

“Are they really going to use the money to buy food?”

“Is this just putting a band aid on a more severe and long term problem?”

“If this person is really desperate, why aren’t they trying to seek assistance at the numerous organizations set up to help them?”

“Will I be putting myself, those with me, or strangers walking by in harm’s way?”

So the dilemma certainly isn’t about money. I’m not greedy. I’m happy to donate money to a trusted organization that will feed and provide shelter to the homeless.

What do you think? I want to hear your opinions and stories. Is it good to help a beggar? Better to donate to a charity set up to provide more effective help? Please post in the comment section below.

Photo by Mitch2742
Misc | July 12th, 2010 | Written by Andrew Galasetti

Leave a Reply

